Duane Ta’zyah O’Connor is the 2023 Calypso Monarch

Home*Cover Story*Entertainment

Duane Ta’zyah O’Connor is the 2023 Calypso Monarch

Duane Ta’zyah O’Connor has been crowned the new Calypso Monarch of Trinidad and Tobago.

The young calypso bard now joins the ranks with his father Duane O’Connor, a former monarch himself.

O’Connor walked away with a trophy, a brand new Suzuki S Cross vehicle and the monetary prize of $500,000.

Defending monarch Terri Lyons had to settle for 6th place while two other past winners, Karene Asche and Roderick ‘Chucky’ Gordon finished in 3rd and and 4th respectively.

Maria Bhola-Paul, who had the popular selection “People Man” placed 8th.

The People’s Choice award went to Kerene Williams Figaro – who amassed 1,150 votes.

The final results are as follows:

1. Duane Ta’ziah O’Connor
2. Kerene Williams-Figaro – (Tiny)
3. Karene Asche
4. Roderick Gordon – (Chucky)
5. Tameika Darius
6. Terri Lyons
7. Ezekiel Yorke
8. Maria Bhola-Paul
9. Helon Francis
10. Heaven Charles – (Snakey)
11. Mark Eastman
12. Carlos James – (Skatie)