Recounts in both THA and Local Government Bye-Elections

Home*Cover Story*News

Recounts in both THA and Local Government Bye-Elections

The Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) said it received official requests for general recounts of the votes cast in five electoral districts.

A media release issued this afternoon by the EBC states that In Tobago, the Progressive Democratic Patriots has requested recounts in the electoral districts of Canaan/Bon Accord, Lambeau/ Signal Hill and Scarborough/Calder Hall.

The People’s National Movement has requested a recount in the electoral district of Bethel/Mt. Irvine.

In the Local Government Bye-Elections, EBC said the independent candidate Christopher Wright, who received 307 votes in the electoral district of Hollywood, requested a recount.

Election Rule 101(1) of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 2:01 provides for, inter alia, political parties and/or independent candidates to request a recount into the votes cast, no later than twelve noon on the day after the election.

The recount in the electoral district of Hollywood has ended. The outcome remains the same.

In Tobago, the People’s National Movement and the Progressive Democratic Patriots both won six electoral districts.

With an electorate of 51,062 registered voters, there were 26,385 votes cast giving rise to a voter turn-out of 51.84%.

The People’s National Movement – 13,288 votes

Patriotic Democratic Patriots – 12,798 votes

The candidates for both the Class Action Reform Movement and the Unity of the People each received 9 votes.

Independent candidates Anthony Hector – 12 votes

Denise Tsoiafatt-Angus – 269 votes

In Trinidad, with an electorate of 32,351 in the five (5) electoral districts in Trinidad, there were 8,300 votes cast and an overall voter turn-out of 25.66%.

The People’s National Movement – 3,941 votes,

United National Congress – 3,359 votes.

Electoral district – Hindustan/St. Mary’s –

Independent candidate –

Ariel Saunders – 653 votes

Peterson Morales – 16 votes

The United National Congress’ candidates won in the electoral districts of Arima Central, Cunupia and Hindustan/St. Mary’s.

The People’s National Movement candidates won in the electoral districts of Hollywood and Morne Coco/Alyce Glen.