New HDC board to include a THA member

Home*Cover Story*News

New HDC board to include a THA member

Housing Minister, Camille Robinson-Regis has revealed one member of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) will soon be added to the newly appointed board of the Housing Development Corporation.

Speaking at an appointment ceremony at HDC’s South Quay, Port of Spain head office on Tuesday, Robinson-Regis said the member, who was not identified, will be joining the board soon.

The board will consist of Noel Garcia as chairman, and members Kurt Winston Salandy, Dante Selman-Carrington, both of whom are returning to the board, Simone Ashby, Sanjiv Boodhu, Joseph Jacob, Joanne Deoraj and a Tobago representative.

The previous board, according to Robinson-Regis, was hampered by the pandemic but was still able to meet some of its goals, but she hopes the new board will continue with the Government’s vision of providing affordable housing.

She encouraged the new members to be diligent in their dealing, adding that the board must not only look at affordable but sustained development keeping in mind the country’s drive to reduce its carbon footprint.