Jamaica Imposes Travel Restrictions on Six South American Countries

HomeNewsCovid-19 Coronavirus

Jamaica Imposes Travel Restrictions on Six South American Countries

Jamaica has extended travel limitations on overseas travellers from six South American nations – Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay and Peru.

As per an assertion gave by the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM) on Wednesday, the extension of the travel band to all the more abroad travellers, came after an audit of the circumstance in South America where a few nations there are encountering observable spikes in COVID-19 cases.

The OPM has likewise highlighted the expanding number of nations with the Brazilian variations of COVID-19, which are supposed to be all the more handily sent from one individual to another.

The movement boycott which produces results on Thursday, April 1, is to stay set up until April 13th.

“Jamaica is at a critical juncture in the COVID-19 pandemic; we are experiencing a second surge of cases that has threatened to overwhelm our health care system. The restrictions on the specified countries are to decrease the likelihood of entry of the more transmissible variants to Jamaica,” the statement said.

Under the new limitations, all non-Jamaicans who have been in the UK, Brazil, Chile, Peru, Colombia, Argentina and Paraguay inside the most recent 14 days preceding their proposed appearance date in Jamaica, won’t be allowed to enter Jamaica.

It additionally noticed that Jamaicans who have been in the seven recorded nations inside the 14 days preceding their proposed appearance date, who try to enter the island through another nation, will be tried and kept in state isolate at their own cost for at least 48 hours until the outcomes are returned. In the event that negative, they will be permitted to move to home isolate to finish the 14-day required isolate period. On the off chance that positive, they will stay in seclusion at an area that is endorsed by the Ministry of Health and Wellness.

As of Tuesday, Jamaica had recorded 39,237 cases of COVID-19 and 596 deaths.

Almost 21,000 cases are considered to be active.