Rowley to receive honorary doctorate from Howard University

Home*Cover Story*News

Rowley to receive honorary doctorate from Howard University

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is set to receive an honorary doctorate from the prestigious HBCU, Howard University.

Howard University has announced that it will confer six honorary doctorate degrees during the 155th Commencement Convocation ceremony which will take place on the main campus of Howard University’s Upper Quadrangle at 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 13, 2023.

Honorary recipients this year include the Honorable James E. Clyburn, United States representative for South Carolina; Karsh Family Foundation co-founders Martha L. and Bruce A. Karsh; Trinidad and Tobago prime minister Keith Christopher Rowley, PhD; Duke University Health System president and CEO A. Eugene Washington, M.D., MPH, MSc; and Trustee Emerita and former Board vice chair Benaree Pratt Wiley.

The 2023 honorees are among the leaders in their respective fields, in no small part due to their commitment to our collective humanity and building a better society for us all. *Truth and service have been major elements to their lives both personally and professionally*, which makes this year’s honorary degree recipients exceedingly qualified to join the Class of 2023.

According to Howard University:
Keith Christopher Rowley, PhD, will be awarded the honorary Doctor of Letters.

Rowley is the Prime Minister of Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Rowley was born in 1949 in Mason Hall, Tobago, and was raised by his grandparents, who were prominent Tobago farmers. Rowley completed his secondary schooling at Bishop’s High School (BHS) in Tobago and his sterling academic performance saw him capture the prestigious Sylvan Bowles Scholarship. He then commenced his studies at the University of the West Indies, Mona, Jamaica, from where he graduated with a BSc in geology (first class honors) and geography (first class honors), and earned his MSc in volcanic stratigraphy from UWI, St. Augustine. He is a volcanologist who obtained his doctorate in geology, specializing in geochemistry. He is a known nature lover and as a research scientist he held the positions of research fellow and later head of the Seismic Research Unit at the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine. He was also the general manager of state-owned National Quarries Company Limited. He first ran for political office in 1981, where he contested the Tobago West seat. Rowley is the Member of the House of Representatives for Diego Martin West in the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago, where he has represented that constituency since 1991 having been re-elected multiple times. He first served in Parliament as an opposition senator from 1987-1990. He later served at cabinet level holding, at various times, the portfolios. Following the People’s National Movement (PNM)’s defeat in the Trinidad and Tobago General Election, 2010, Rowley was appointed leader of the opposition of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and was elected Political Leader of the People’s National Movement in 2010. In 2015, Rowley led the People’s National Movement to general election victory, to become the seventh prime minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Rowley was re-elected to serve as prime minister on August 10, 2020, after winning the 2020 general election.