Doja Cat teams up with Skechers as its first artist-in-residence

Home*Cover Story*Entertainment

Doja Cat teams up with Skechers as its first artist-in-residence

Doja Cat is now the first-ever artist-in-residence for Skechers Uno, and she kicked off the partnership by rocking a pair of the kicks at the Time100 Gala.

The annual gala, which went down in New York City on Wednesday night (April 26), saw Doja wear a custom dress she designed herself along with Cierra Boyd of Frisk Me Good and creative director and stylist Brett Alan Nelson. It was made from almost 70 pairs of deconstructed black Skechers Uno sneakers.

“Skechers has given me a new canvas to create,” the “Juicy” rapper said in a statement to Rolling Stone. “I can’t wait to show everyone what we are building.”

Check out Doja Cat’s look below:

While the exact sneakers she wore at the gala aren’t available, a similar version can be purchased now online and in Skechers retail stores.

The kicks come in a variety of 10 colors, as well as an option between medium and wide widths. They also have a built-in, hidden one-inch heel.

In related news, Doja Cat was among the few musicians and entertainers to be selected as award winners for the 27th annual Webby Awards this week.

On Tuesday (April 25), the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences announced the winners, which saw Rihanna take home the People’s Voice award for fashion, beauty and lifestyle, branded entertainment for her Savage x Fenty Show Vol. 4.

Doja Cat won the award for Best Influencer or Creator Endorsement for her partnership with Taco Bell, while SZA — alongside Tobe Nwigwe and Tracee Ellis Ross — was one of the “special achievement winners.”

The awards will be presented at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City on May 15, with Comedian Roy Wood Jr. returning as the host.

The Webby Awards recognize excellence in websites, mobile websites, video, advertising, media and PR, apps, software, social, podcasts, games, immersive and virtual worlds, and games and metaverses. Nearly 14,000 entries were received this year for the annual award show, which were established in 1996.