US Democratic leader Hakeem Jeffries to arrive in T&T with congressional delegation

Home*Cover Story*News

US Democratic leader Hakeem Jeffries to arrive in T&T with congressional delegation

US Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries is heading a bipartisan Congressional delegation to Trinidad and Tobago, his second CODEL as the top Democrat in the House.

“Today, our bipartisan Congressional delegation will travel to Trinidad and Tobago. While there, the delegation will meet with Caribbean leaders to engage on pressing economic and geopolitical issues in the Western Hemisphere. The Congressional delegation will also reaffirm the strong partnership between the United States and our Caribbean neighbors. The trip builds upon the important work the Biden-Harris administration has undertaken in the region.

During the delegation visit, we will join Secretary of State Antony Blinken to participate in the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Heads of Government Conference upon the 50th anniversary of the establishment of the organization. The delegation will also engage directly with the government of Trinidad and Tobago, as well as civil society leaders, on issues including regional security, economic growth, the climate crisis and energy.

It is an honor to lead this distinguished Congressional delegation, which includes top committee and subcommittee members relevant to critical issues throughout the Caribbean and Western Hemisphere. We look forward to a constructive and enlightening Congressional delegation visit.”

The Members of the delegation are:

Leader Hakeem Jeffries, Democratic Leader, U.S. House of Representatives
Rep. Amata Coleman Radewagen, Member, Committee on Veterans’ Affairs; Member, Natural Resources Committee; Member, Foreign Affairs Committee
Rep. Gregory W. Meeks, Ranking Member, Foreign Affairs Committee; Member, Committee on Financial Services
Rep. Steven Horsford, Chair, Congressional Black Caucus; Member, Financial Services Committee; Member, Armed Services Committee
Rep. Yvette D. Clarke, Member, Committee on Energy and Commerce; Member, Committee on Homeland Security
Rep. Joyce Beatty, Member, Committee on Financial Services
Rep. Joaquin Castro, Member, Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence; Member, Foreign Affairs Committee