UNC & PNM in 7-7 tie AGAIN!!!

Home*Cover Story*News

UNC & PNM in 7-7 tie AGAIN!!!

Preliminary results indicate that the UNC and PNM have both retained seven corporations each in this year’s Local Government Elections.

The results practically mirror those of the 2019 Local Government Elections.

The PNM won seven councils – Port of Spain, San Fernando, Arima, Point Fortin, Diego Martin, San Juan/Laventille and Tunapuna/Piarco.

The UNC retained its seven – Chaguanas, Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo, Mayaro/Rio Claro, Penal/Debe, Princes Town, Siparia and Sangre Grande.

While the PNM made history by winning a seat in the Princes Town regional corporation for the first time, unofficial results show that the UNC made the greater headway.

The party tightened their grip in the Sangre Grande Regional Corporation winning an additional seat to strengthen their hold with 6 seats to the PNM’s 2.

The UNC also won an extra seat on the San Fernando City Council where John Michael Ali Bocas known as the entertainer “Makamillion” won Marabella West.

They also claimed the new seat created at Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation, to increase their tally from five out of six, to six out of seven seats.