TTPS receives Road Safety Award

Home*Cover Story*News

TTPS receives Road Safety Award

Commissioner of Police, Erla Harewood-Christopher, on Friday accepted the Ministry of Works and Transport’s Woodside Energy, Road Safety Award on behalf of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS).

The Award, which was presented to the Commissioner, was presented by the President of Arrive Alive, Sharon Ingelfield, at the Police Administration Building, Port-of-Spain. It was achieved after Trinidad and Tobago was one of 10 countries worldwide which managed to reduce fatalities by 50 per cent in 2021.

The Awards are held annually by Arrive Alive, however, the event was not held in 2022 as such, the ceremony was held in 2023, and the Road Safety Award was presented Friday.

On June 7th, 2023, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, Traffic and Highway Patrol Branch copped 27 awards for Outstanding Performance in Traffic Enforcement, Leadership in Road Safety, Dedication to Road Safety in the Line of Duty and Special Efforts in Road Safety Education through Community Engagement and a group award was also presented to the Motor Cycle Section.

After the ceremony, both CoP Harewood-Christopher and Ingelfield held talks about both agencies working closer together to bolster safety initiatives enforcement and developing a working relationship with the Victim and Witness Support Unit and their programmes.