West Indies wins the T20 international series

Home*Cover Story*News

West Indies wins the T20 international series

The West Indies wins the T20 international series 2-1 after defeating South Africa in the third and final T20 encounter.

The last time this was achieved was in the 2014/2015 series

Reeza Hendricks smashed 83 from 44 balls but it was not enough for South Africa, who fell seven runs short of their massive target as the West Indies claimed a 2-1 series win following the third Twenty20 International at The Wanderers on Tuesday.

South Africa had chased down a record 259 for victory in the second game in Pretoria on Sunday, and this time were set 221 having elected to bowl first on a cold night in Johannesburg.

Shepherd and Joseph gave West Indies the third-highest score at the Wanderers and the highest total without an individual fifty since Australia’s 221 for 5 against England in 2007.
They were able to defend it in challenging conditions, with plenty of dew greasing up the ball, and against a determined South African line-up.
Reeza Hendricks notched notched up a career-best 83 and put on 80 with Riley Rossouw for the second wicket but the required run-rate ballooned on South Africa and their batting line-up appeared a little light.
The result means West Indies have now won a second successive T20I series win in South Africa, eight years after taking the trophy in 2015. Sheldon Cottrell and Jason Holder are the only members of the current squad who played in that series.
Source: Cricinfo