UNC selects their 5 for Local Gov’t Election

Home*Cover Story*Politics

UNC selects their 5 for Local Gov’t Election

Businessman John Laquis is among the five candidates chosen by the UNC for the upcoming Local Government bye-elections.

Laquis, who was the party’s unsuccessful candidate for Diego Martin Central in the recent General Election, will be vying for the Electoral District of Morne Coco/Alyce Glen in the Diego Martin Regional Corporation.

The electoral districts of Cunupia and Hindustan/St. Marys were previously held by the UNC, before the councilors were elected to the Parliament.

Now, the UNC is fielding Richard Gautam Sukdeo for Cunupia and Tylon Dwight Farrell for Hindustan/St. Mary’s.

The other UNC candidates are Sheldon Louis Garcia for Arima Central and Daniel John for the Electoral District of Hollywood.

The PNM have already named their five candidates for the bye-elections, which will be held on January 25th, 2021.

Meanwhile, the UNC is hopeful of continuing the trend of capturing additional districts from the PNM.

The party says this follows the General Election, where the UNC was able to capture one additional constituency from the ruling party.

The UNC says its five candidates for the bye-elections are confident in their abilities and pledge to bring home a victory.