Tobago Writers Guild Elects New Executive

Home*Cover Story*News

Tobago Writers Guild Elects New Executive

The Tobago Writers Guild has renewed its commitment to the continued advancement of the local orange economy in the area of the literary arts.

TWG, established in 2010, recently held elections at its virtually held AGM.

The new Executive Committee members for the 2023 term are:

  • President – Jewel Greene-George
  • Vice President – Dr. Rita Pemberton
  • Treasurer – Maria Bristol-Darlington
  • Assistant Treasurer – Wade Caruth
  • Secretary – Garnet Lawrence
  • Assistant Secretary – Chrisan Daniel
  • Public Relations Officer (PRO) – Leroy George

Following the election, newly installed President, Jewel Greene-George, commented on the NGO’s focus on the advancement of the literary arts culture in Tobago. She stated that the Creative Sector’s contribution to Trinidad and Tobago’s economy at this time, although quite small, has steadily increased, generating TT$393.8 million & TT$394.6 million in 2019 & 2020 respectively, according to the Central Statistical Office (CSO). This she was comparing to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization’s (UNESCO) report that the global orange economy industries generated close to US$2.25 trillion in 2020.

The TWG has held many initiatives over the years to support local authors. One recently held initiative was the Writers Workshop with Dr. Earl Lovelace during the TOMAC Festival and its upcoming joint Writers Retreat in February, where published author, journalist and poet Lisa Alleyne-Agostini, is the writer in residence.