Three firearms seized, five suspects arrested

Home*Cover Story*News

Three firearms seized, five suspects arrested

Police seized three more illegal firearms and arrested five suspects, during anti-crime exercises in Penal, Mayaro and St Joseph over the past 24 hours.

Between 3 am and 7am today, an Operation Safe Streets anti-crime exercise was conducted in the Penal district, where several search warrants for firearms and ammunition were executed. When officers searched a premises located at Serrette Trace, Morne Diablo, they discovered one Smith and Wesson revolver, with three rounds of .38 special ammunition. Two suspects, a male aged 24, and a 29-year-old woman were arrested in connection with the seizure.


The exercise was co-ordinated by Snr Supt Remy, W/Supt Theodore-Persad, ASP Victor, ASP Mathura, supervised by ASP Nanan, Sgt Khan, Sgt Boodlal, Sgt Sobie, Cpl Seecharan, and included officers from the South Western Division Task Force (SWDTF).


When Mayaro Criminal Investigations Department (CID), Task Force and CSI officers conducted enquiries today along Guayaguayare Road, Mayaro they arrested two suspects. A 48-year-old man from Paramin Hill, Maraval was detained for being in possession of one homemade shotgun and three 12-gauge cartridges. While another man, 23, also of Paramin Hill, Maraval, was detained for being in possession of four 12-gauge cartridges. Several hunting camps and hunters were searched during the exercise.

The exercise was supervised by Ag Sgt Mohammed and included Ag Cpl Flores, PC Humphrey and PC Sarabjit.

Meanwhile, Port of Spain CID officers proceeded to St. Joseph yesterday, where they executed a search warrant for arms and ammunition at a premises located at Mc Inroy Street, Curepe. During the search, the officers found one revolver with two rounds of .38 special ammunition. The officers took possession of the illegal items, and one man was arrested.

The exercise was co-ordinated by Snr Supt Ramkhelawan, Supt Pariman, and supervised by Cpl Rambaran, PCs Jawahir, Samaroo, Baran, O’ Garro, Hoyte, Dover, and Daniel.


Source: TTPS