Soca Warriors aiming to advance to Group A of Gold Cup with a win over French Guiana today

Home*Cover Story*Sports

Soca Warriors aiming to advance to Group A of Gold Cup with a win over French Guiana today

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s Football team is confident and ready to face off against French Guiana today in their 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup qualification second round match.

However, Coach Angus Eve admitted that they will be facing the French Guiana side blind, as they are not totally aware of the capabilities of that squad.

Today’s match kicks off from 4.30 pm, at the DRV PNK Stadium, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States.

French Guiana were due to face Cuba on Saturday in their first-round fixture. However, Cuba had to default the game since they were unable to leave Nicaragua for the US due to covid19 related travel and visa challenges.

Eve, speaking at a pre-game media conference via Zoom on Monday, said, “They (French Guiana0 haven’t played a competitive game for a while. It’s unfortunate we couldn’t see them (on Saturday).”

He added, “The roster that they have, we could basically go back and see things that some of the players would have done in the past, but that’s basically it. We’re basically going relatively blind.

“They would have a better idea of what we do because they would have seen our game, so they have an advantage in that regard. We’re pretty confident in our game and what we’re capable of doing.

Eve noted, “We have to treat each match as a virtual final,” said the TT coach. “Each match is equally important. The mood in the camp is really good. The guys who came off the bench were fantastic. We have a squad of players who we trust so if somebody is injured, there is no problem for us to replace them with one of the other guys on the roster.”

The winners of Tuesday’s qualifier will advance to Group A of the Gold Cup, alongside Mexico, El Salvador and Curacao.

The TT Squad: Marvin Phillip, Nicklas Frenderup, Adrian Foncette (goalkeepers); Aubrey David, Jelani Peters, Curtis Gonzales, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Alvin Jones, Justin Garcia, Tristan Hodge, Ross Russell Jnr, Jesse Williams (defenders); Neveal Hackshaw, Hashim Arcia, Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino, Judah Garcia, Reon Moore, Andre Fortune II, Duane Muckette (midfielders); Ryan Telfer, Marcus Joseph, Isaiah Lee (strikers).