Several schools in north Tobago remain closed

Home*Cover Story*News

Several schools in north Tobago remain closed

A number of schools in north Tobago will remain closed today (July 2).

Chief Secretary Farley Augustine revised his previous announcement on July 1 that all schools will reopen after a tour of the north and north-eastern end of the island, and following a discussion with Secretary Zia Hackett and public servants in the Division of Education, Research and Technology.

They found issues in areas where communication, power and road access remain limited after the passage of Hurricane Beryl.

The schools that are closed are: Parlatuvier Anglican; L’Anse Fourmi Methodist; L’Anse Fourmi ECCE; Charlotteville Methodist; Charlotteville SDA Primary; Speyside High School; Speyside Anglican and Speyside ECCE.

“Parlatuvier to L’Anse Fourmi still have challenges with telecommunications and so these three communities were unable to properly communicate with TEMA (Tobago Emergency Management Agency) during the course of the day and much of their issues have not made it into the TEMA database,” Augustine said in a Facebook post.

“PTSC buses and large maxis going north of the island can only reach as far Bloody Bay at this time,” he also said.

In its statement, the education division said electricity may not be fully restored by July 2, although T&TEC had been working to do so across the island.

“We understand the concerns this may cause, particularly as it relates to the safety and comfort of your children,” the division said.