Robert Amar vying for deputy leadership in UNC internal elections

Home*Cover Story*Politics

Robert Amar vying for deputy leadership in UNC internal elections

Businessman Robert Amar, who has dipped his feet in the political pool on several occasions, even launching his own party, is among those vying for the post of deputy leader in the UNC’s December 6 internal elections.

Amar’s name was released by UNC’s internal election team Monday evening, among others vying for posts on the national executive.

Amar had been selected by Persad- Bissessar to act as a temporary senator in the last term.

However, the nominees for deputy leader on Persad- Bissessar’s slate are Dr Lackram Bodoe, David Lee and Jearlean John.

Those on Bharath’s slate vying for deputy leadership are Ramona Ramdial, Joe Pires, Dr Stephen Ramroop.

Other names released by the committee are:

Political Leader:
Vasant Bharath
Kamla Persad-Bissessar

Deputy Political Leader:
Robert Amar
Lackram Bodoe
Jerlean John
David Lee
Joseph Pires
Ramona Ramdial
Stephen Ramroop

Larry Lalla
Davendranath Tancoo

Deputy Chairman:
Khadijah Ameen
Hershael Ramesar

Policy & Strategy Officer:
Chunilal Bedassie
Sean Sobers

Education Officer:
Clifton De Coteau
Vera Dookie-Ramlal
Ramchand Rampersad

Research Officer:
Nazima Ali Knox
Monifa Russell-Andrews

Elections Officer:
Kamini Ramraj
Don Sylvester

William Archie
Winston Siriram

Party Organizer:
Ravi Ratiram
Prakash Williams

International Relations Officer:
Joey Harrynanan
Rishi Kanick
Nicholas Morris Wilfred

Regional Rep. Central:
Rasheed Karim
Andrew Mungal

Regional Rep. Northeast:
Neil Gosine
Candice Mohan

Regional Rep. Northwest:
Jason Peru
Eli Zakour

Regional Rep. South:
Shanty Boodram
Anil Ramjit

Regional Rep. Tobago:
Bheemal Ramlogan
Barrington Thomas Junior