PM met with newly-appointed Community Recovery Programme Team

PM met with newly-appointed Community Recovery Programme Team

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley met with members of the newly-appointed Community Recovery Programme Team at the Diplomatic Centre today Tuesday 07 July, 2020.

Last Thursday the Prime Minister announced the establishment of this team which will evaluate and design a path forward for communities in need.

According to a release issued this afternoon, the Prime Minister told the team which is led by Mr Anthony Watkins, that they “have been selected on this committee to find working solutions to address some chronic problems which can be found in urban and semi-urban communities.”

He said the issue is not geographical but rather socio-economic and urged team members to focus on creating vehicles for people who want to be transported out of a situation that is getting the better of them.

Dr Rowley gave the group the assurance that “as far as the country is able to – through the national executive – we will provide the resources to implement the solutions that you think ought to be actionable in all these communities.”

The Prime Minister added three more individuals to the committee since his announcement last Thursday –

They are:

Dr Keron Victor – Economist
Hasley Crawford – Olympian
Christopher “Jillionaire” Leacock – Music Producer

The team will be led by:

Mr Anthony Watkins – Consultant and expert in social pathology/ mental health, correctional services, and psychiatric forensic assessment.

Other team members include:
•Dr the Hon Nyan Gadsby-Dolly – Minister of Community Development, Culture and the Arts

•Mrs Nichola Harvey-Mitchell – Director of the Children’s Authority

•Mr Jamaal Shabazz – Former Trinidad and Tobago Football Manager

•Mr Hans des Vignes – Television Personality and Radio Broadcaster

•Mr Curtis Toussaint – Motivational Speaker and Consultant

•Ms Akosua Edwards – Author, Speaker and Gender Specialist