New WASA board appointed

Home*Cover Story*News

New WASA board appointed

Minister of Public Utilities, Marvin Gonzales said that Cabinet has today agreed to the appointment of a new Board of Commissioners for the Water and Sewerage Authority, following the expiration of the tenure of the previous Board on November 30, 2020.

In a release issued the Public Utilities the new Board is to be headed by Dr. Lennox Sealy as its Chairman. “Dr Sealy is an experienced consultant specializing in organizational transformation and development who has worked on major transformation exercises for Governments across the region.”

“Other Commissioners appointed to the new Board include Mr. Ravindra Nanga, Attorney at Law; Mr. Ramnarine Clive Dookie, Geologist; Mr. Danford Mapp, Civil Engineer, Mr. Acherson Wells, Engineer; Ms. Beverly Khan, Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Public Utilities; Ms. Carol Austin, Chief Financial Officer and Mr. Joel Edwards Accounting and Management expert.”

 The new Board will be required to provide strategic direction to transform the Authority into a high-quality performance water and wastewater company, with a focus on best practice, good corporate governance, transparency and accountability. The transformation of the Authority will be underpinned by the following strategic imperatives:  

Build Public Confidence in the operations of the Water Sector and the Government’s Strategic intent;
Cultivate operational efficiency and customer service;
Restructure the water and wastewater sector.