New T&TEC Board Receives Instruments Of Appointment

Home*Cover Story*News

New T&TEC Board Receives Instruments Of Appointment

Public Utilities Minister, Marvin Gonzales, has urged the newly appointed Board of the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission to work towards a sustainable plan to strengthen the Commission’s financial position so that it can continue to provide a reliable electricity supply to the country.

The Minister issued the challenge to T&TEC’s Board of Commissioners after handing them their Instruments of Appointment during a brief ceremony at the Ministry of Public Utilities Head Office on Thursday.

The Board of Commissioners is headed by Romney Thomas, who was reappointed as Chairman. Other reappointed members are:  John Chapman,  Andrew Alves, Clifford Campbell, Charmaine Caballero and Janet Richards.

Newly appointed Commissioners are: Anthony Peyson, who will serve as Deputy Chairman; and Raphael

The Board of Commissioners, which was appointed by Cabinet, will serve for a period of two years with effect from April 12th, 2022.

During his discussions with the new Board, Minister Gonzales also addressed the need to ensure the robust execution of projects under the Public Sector Investment Programme and the importance of the continued digitization and automation of the Commission’s operations.

He further noted that the continuous assessment of the power distribution grid must be carried out to ensure its resilience, especially in the face of climate change and other challenges, and highlighted T&TEC’s role in driving Government’s thrust towards greater energy efficiency and
conservation in Trinidad and Tobago.

The Board was also encouraged to maintain harmonious partnerships and collaborations with key stakeholders, including: the Regulated Industries Commission, for the improvement of customer service and care, and the completion of the rate review process; and the relevant workers’ unions, with the aim of resolving all outstanding industrial relations issues.