NESC Appoints Professor Brian Copeland As New Chairman

Home*Cover Story*News

NESC Appoints Professor Brian Copeland As New Chairman

Emeritus Professor Brian Copeland has been appointed as the new Chairman of NESC Technical Institute.

Mr Copeland was installed by NESC Technical Institute’s Board of Governors during a Board Meeting on March 16 th 2023.

Professor Copeland is a recipient of Trinidad and Tobago’s highest award, the Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (2008), as well as a joint recipient of the Chaconia Medal Gold for his work on the development of the G-Pan.

A career academic and innovator, Professor Copeland brings decades of experience in education to NESC.

Most recently, Professor Copeland served as Pro Vice-Chancellor and Campus Principal of the UWI St Augustine Campus from 2016 to 2022.

Prior to that, Professor Copeland held positions as Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, and Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

His research specialties include Digital Electronics, Microprocessor Systems Design, and Control Systems.