Internal elections today for PNM Tobago Council

Home*Cover Story*Politics

Internal elections today for PNM Tobago Council

Former chief secretary Ancil Dennis is set to be elected as the new PNM Tobago Council political leader, as voting in the PNM Tobago Council internal elections gets underway today from 8am to 6pm.

The road was paved for a fresh election following the PNM’s defeat in the Tobago House of Assembly elections in December, and after the party’s Tobago Council Leader, Tracy Davidson-Celestine, announced her decision to step aside.

Dennis, in a recent newspaper interview, said he is ready to play a major role in the rebuilding of the party after its devastating loss in the THA elections.

According to reports, former secretary of education Huey Cadette and Learie Paul, are vying for the position of party chairman.

The post of vice-chairman is being contested by Nicole Henry, Steve Waldron and Charles Adams, while Andre Baker, Stephon Isaac and Quincy Trim are vying for the position of youth officer.

Former assemblyman Shomari Hector, is running unopposed for PRO.