EBC says despite tie, PNM won the popular vote in THA election

Home*Cover Story*Government

EBC says despite tie, PNM won the popular vote in THA election

Although the outcome of the 6-6 tie in Monday’s Tobago House of Assembly (THA) election is yet to be sorted out, the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) has given the PNM some good news.

According to the EBC, the PNM won the popular vote in Monday’s election.

But, PDP’s political leader Watson Duke and deputy leader Farley Augustine have claimed their party won the popular vote.

Both PDP men said that despite the tied result, the PDP should be allowed to govern the THA as they enjoyed the majority of support from the electorate.

However, in a release to media, the EBC said with an electorate of 51,062 registered voters, 26,385 votes were cast. This gave rise to a voter turn-out of 51.84 per cent.

It said the PNM got 13,288 votes while the PDP received 12,798 votes.

The EBC said it has also received official requests for general recounts of the votes cast in five electoral districts.

The Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) has requested recounts in the electoral districts of Canaan/Bon Accord, Lambeau/ Signal Hill and Scarborough/Calder Hall.
The seats were won by the PNM’s Clarence Jacob, Tracy Davidson-Celestine and Marslyn Melville-Jack, respectively

The commission said the PNM has requested a recount in Bethel/Mt. Irvine, which it lost to the PDP’s Pastor Terrance Baynes.