EBC Draft Report Proposes Two New Electoral Districts

Home*Cover Story*News

EBC Draft Report Proposes Two New Electoral Districts

A draft report from the Elections and Boundaries Commission is proposing two new electoral districts.

They are Couva West Roystonia and Mayaro North, these falls in the Tabaquite / Talparo and Mayaro / Rio Claro areas.

This was revealed by Minister of Agriculture, Kazim Hosein; as he piloted the motion approve the draft of the Elections and Boundaries Commission, Local Government and Tobago House of Assembly Order on Wednesday.

Speaking in the parliament, Minister Hosein said the public can expect name changes in the Balmain district.

The electoral district of Balmain, Calcutta Number Two, has been renamed Couva East Balmain,  California/ Point Lisas has been renamed Savonetta /Point Lisas,  Carli Bay Calcutta Number Three Mc Bean  has been renamed Calcutta Number Three Mc Bean.

In Mayaro the electoral district of Mayaro / Guayaguare has been renamed Mayaro South / Guayaguare and the Rio Claro South / Cats hill   has been renamed Rio Claro South.

However, Opposition Member of Parliament for St Augustine, Khadijah Ameen, raised concern with the move claiming there must be fairness and funding for the broadening areas.