21 prison officers promoted

Home*Cover Story*News

21 prison officers promoted

On Friday September 23, 2022, twenty-one (21) Prison Officers I were promoted to the rank of Prison Officer II, in a brief ceremony at the Prisons Training College.

Commissioner of Prisons (Ag), Mr. Deopersad Ramoutar, who presided over the promotion ceremony, congratulated the Officers and stated that the promotion is a testament to their leadership, commitment and service over the years. He urged them to be positive role models to the hundreds of young officers under their care and to embrace the change that is required for the advancement of the Service.

Commissioner Ramoutar noted that the Prison Service is doing a great job in security but stressed the need to focus on rehabilitation within all the ranks. He concluded by reminding them that their journey as middle managers would be challenging and the responsibilities would increase but encouraged them to be mindful and utilize the watchwords, respect and performance.

Present at today’s promotion ceremony were Deputy Commissioners of Prisons (Ag). Messrs. Carlos Corraspe and Hayden Forde, Assistant Commissioners of Prisons (Ag) Mssrs. Felix Alexis, Elvin Scanterbury and Joseph Nelson and Senior Superintendent of Prisons (Ag) Mr. Lee Davis.

The Trinidad and Tobago Prison Service congratulates all the newly promoted Prisons Officers and wishes them all the success.